You Should Have Put A Ring On It Don’t Be Mad Once You See That He Want It

E had big hands. Huge hands. Like it was ridiculous. We went multiple times to different jewellery stores looking for the perfect wedding ring for him. I asked him so many questions about what he would like, what did he want it to look like, how big, what style. I really wanted him to like his ring. The issue though, was his fingers. His fingers/hands/knuckles what have you, had been broken/injured so many times playing rugby that finding a ring to fit was proving to be more effort then it was worth in the end. Any ring that would fit over his knuckles would just hang loosely around his finger once on.

I researched so many options because I wanted it to be perfect for him. I found a company that will take a ring and put a clasp in it, so you could open it and then once on, tighten it, similar to a watch. The cost to alter a ring was crazy but worth it for E to comfortably wear his ring. Since we would be spending a fair amount on the customization, my dad offered his dad’s ring for us to use to save us money on the gold. My Nonno had passed away years before and my dad had been holding that ring tight. He didn’t even offer it to my older sister when she got married.

I accepted the ring and knew the importance of it to my Dad. E just kinda was glad to get it for free. Because I know for sure he didn’t value it at all.

Any time we had the littlest disagreement, he took the ring off.  If anything escaladed into an argument, he would take that important part of my family history and walk outside the front door and would chuck it. Normally way over the roof in a dramatic fashion. In fact we didn’t even have to be arguing. One time he did it because I simply asked him if he got high after a game. The first time I found it in the backyard while weeding and stupidly gave it back to him. The next time our neighbour was mowing his lawn and ran it over. The third time it was gone for good. My deceased grandfathers ring was thrown out like last weeks garbage, because of E’s temper.

The ring I spent so much time, effort and money on meant nothing to him. He used to insinuate that by taking off the ring we were done. To him, it was as simple as throwing it away and he would be done with me. I never once saw him out there looking for it. It didn’t matter to him. It was no big deal to him. I was no big deal to him. I could’ve easily been thrown away like that and he would’ve cared just as much.

The story of our marriage.


-Beyoncé/Single Ladies-

10 thoughts on “You Should Have Put A Ring On It Don’t Be Mad Once You See That He Want It

  1. My ex husband used to do the exact same shit
    He would take his ring off and tell me “I don’t need you or this ring” but I always had to apologize and and kiss his ass. Our stories have so much in common, now I am really excited to write some of my story! Please keep writing, I am really enjoying your story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

