Please Don’t Look At Me With Those Eyes Please Don’t Hint That Your Capable Of Lies I Dread The Thought Of Our Very First Kiss

Maybe my tape measure is faulty, because I can think of no other logical explanation for how every man I've recently met recently whose profile said they were 6 feet plus, turned out near my height or as was the case last night, MUCH shorter. I'm 5'9, unless, like I said, every tool I've ever used to measure my height was faulty, then men just lie about their height, as if that's not something noticeable the woman is going to pick up on ASAP. If you MUST lie about something, lie about your shoe size or how many cars you own, or tell me some sad sob story about how your long lost brother died when you were 12 and so you do charity work in his name… just not something obvious that I'm going to be able to call you out on the minute I see you! Common!

So it started off, this guy I've really casually been chatting to for about 3 months FINALLY asked me out for coffee last night. My kids were spending the night at my parents (Woooo party 🎉 lol) and so I agreed. Turns out he lived really close and so we picked a coffee shop nearby and a time and that was that.

I decided to walk to the Timmys since it was close by and I just wanted a nice stroll without kids and a chance to clear my head before I met the guy. Basically it was my pep talk time lol. I'd hardly done this before since previously guys had just normally come to my place and well that was that. So since I had about 5 minutes to get ready I brushed my teeth, rolled on some deodorant, went pee and that was the extent of my 'date' prep. I threw on my chucks, still in the same clothes I wore to work, stuck in my headphones and headed out the door. Hey I figured if you only give me 5 minutes to get ready, how good can you really expect me to look lol?
The whole 20 minute walk I'm going over scenarios in my head, while reminding myself that if I don't like him I can leave, and I don't owe him anything, I don't have to kiss him etc… but also couldn't get K out of my mind. Like would he be hurt if he knew about this? What would he consider this? He said no strings… he hasn't called… maybe he wants to but can't… it was an annoying walk with all the back and forth in my head to say the least. But in the end, I went. I'm still writing K everyday to show my support and be there for him, and what will happen with that while situation will happen, but I'm still going to live my bet life, no strings.

So I got to the coffee shop and met the guy. First impression? Eh. I knew right off the bat he was not the one. I found myself comparing him to other men and not liking many aspects of his personal appearance as well as mannerisms. Don't get me wrong, he was a great guy and we got alone just fine, like I had a fun night, but no thanks, I'm not interested in doing that again.

He was sitting in a booth so I walked in and sat across from him and we said our hi's and all that awkward stuff. Then he asked me what I wanted and I gave him my order and then excused myself to use the washroom quickly. I just wanted to regroup and also I've been drinking so much water lately that after the walk my bladder was going to burst.
I came out and he was still in line so I joined him and our turn was up. He ordered for us, remembering my order like a pro and we kept up the banter no problem. The problem though? Is that I found myself slouching so that I didn't seem so tall. It was weird, but subconsciously I feel like if a man goes to such lengths to lie about his height, he must be worried about it, so let me support him by not ever seeming taller then him or something… ridiculous I know, but while we were waiting for our teas I realized a few times that I wasn't standing as I normally would. Instead my legs were more spread or my shoulders dramatically slouched. I think he noticed it to, since he was constantly leaning on things as if he could defend his height lie by saying oh I'm taller than this it's because I'm leaning or sitting on the edge here etc.
But moving on lol. We got our drinks and then we road tripped to Costco. But nooooo not the 2 right near us, we had to drive to the one way on the other side of town… because, I realized later, 2 buddy's of his worked in the liquor store at that location and I think he just wanted to be seen with me.
So we spent over an hour browsing Costco for about 6 items he needed. That's it. What a waste of time! Lol.
I get it was supposed to be fun but he just kept pushing the cart so slowly OR WORSE stopping it for like 5 minutes in the middle of the busiest aisle to talk… about nothing! Well that's a lie. He spent a good solid 10 minutes telling me literally everything he eats in a day. 😫. At one point in that conversation I actually told him I was bored of it (rudest thing I've ever done on a date) and he said I know but I'm almost done… and kept going! He used to be a really heavyset guy and over the last 3 years or so I guess he's lost about 50 pounds, which is great! But I don't need your detailed meal plan. Like not only did he tell me WHAT he ate, but also portion sizes and how he prepared it. It was excruciatingly boring to listen to.

So then we went and browsed the books and movies section where we saw the CD/DVD's that teach you to speak another language. So we talked about that for a minute and he's like I've always wanted to learn a different language, I should get one. I'm just thinking like dude, don't get one. If you haven't bought one by now, you don't need it/won't use it, don't buy it just to impress me. But I kept my mouth shut. Turns out, yep he's apparently going to attempt to learn Spanish 😏. Sure he is. That CD is going to sit unopened in his house forever, but that's not my problem.

Then we finally made it out of Costco and next door towards the liquor store. I'm not a big drinker but he DEFINITELY is. He kept discussing this alcohol vs. that alcohol and the benefits of one compared to the other. It was just another boring conversation. Then he met his 2 friends that I guess he hits up the gym with and he was polite about it, he didn't chat it up with them forever it was a simple quick hey how's it going what's up kinda thing. Then he bought about $400 worth of alcohol. 400. W. T. F. Dude? Is this a normal Thursday night for you? Or how often do you do this? Or is this a one time impress C move? Cause I'm more concerned than impressed to be honest! But whatever your not my responsibility.

Anyways, we got into the car and at this point we didn't really have a destination and he was just driving in the direction we came. I hate that. I don't just 'go for drives' I think it's pointless and a waste of gas. When I drive I have a destination or I at least know like let's go for a drive around the city… then I know once we finish the loop around the city we're done and we go home. But the whole just drive thing… no. Not for me. So I was like just head to my place, mainly based on the fact I needed to know where we were going. Once we got to my house a massive storm had started and we sat in the car for a while chatting.

I didn't really want to invite him in but I didn't really want to be rude and not… so I was like oh, you probably have to get that meat home and in the fridge… or did you want to come in? What time do you have to get up for work again? Knowing he gets up at like 4 AM.
So I did my part lol and he politely declined my lame invite and said yeah he had to get home or he would have come in for sure. Next time definitely. I was like that's assuming there is a next time but whatever. I thanked him for the night and then ran into my house through the rain… oh he did offer me an umbrella but I honestly didn't want to have any reason to have to see him again so I turned it down, besides what's a little water right? I won't melt. At least I haven't yet.

He texted me about 15 minutes later something about getting home through the storm ok, and he tried to continue the conversation for a bit, but I honestly just wanted to chill and maybe watch some tv or sleep, so I wasn't to responsive.
So to be fair, it was a pleasant enough night, but one I don't want to repeat.
Better luck to the next one.

-Blink 182/First Date-

Leave a Reply

